How To Draw When You Can’t Draw

Here are 5 simple ways to begin

Cynthia Marinakos
7 min readNov 14, 2019
Illustration by Cynthia Marinakos.

When I was in high school, my best friend and I did a trigonometry project together. She drew the pictures. I did the maths. She was great at graphic design. I was great at English and Accounting.

I’ve grown up thinking I can’t draw.

Then last year, I shared a post I’d written about croissants on Facebook. Later one of my friends asked me about the picture, saying she’d seen it before. I told her it was a stock photo while inside, I decided that was it. I’ve been determined to take my own high res photos — or create my own illustrations. I spend so much time writing posts, it feels only right to complete it with my own pictures.

Illustration by Cynthia Marinakos.

I’ve also been following a blogger for many years who brings her posts to life with pictures, Henneke Duistermaat. I love the vibrancy, personality, and meaning her photos add to her words.

Screenshot: Henneke’s post. Source: enchantingmarketing.com Accessed: 13/11/19.

But when it comes to drawing, the same feelings pop up that I feel when it comes to…

--

--

Cynthia Marinakos

Aussie Copywriter. I love rock climbing high ceilings and hiking amongst ferns.